After Roe v. Wade was overturned, pro-abortion campaigners demonstrated in Nashville, Tennessee, on June 24. Getty Images, Seth Herald/AFP remove caption
switch to caption Getty Images, Seth Herald/AFP
After Roe v. Wade was overturned, pro-abortion campaigners demonstrated in Nashville, Tennessee, on June 24.
Getty Images, Seth Herald/AFP Nearly all of the country’s abortion trigger prohibitions will go into force by the end of August.
Following the reversal of Roe v. Wade by the US Supreme Court, thirteen states have laws that automatically criminalize abortions.
Abortions are instantly forbidden in some states under the trigger law without any further action being required. In other cases, the rule needs to take effect after 30 days or an attorney general’s certification. In the meantime, municipal courts in Utah , Wyoming , and North Dakota temporarily barred respective trigger prohibitions.
Without using a trigger law, a handful of states have legislated abortion restrictions. 14 states currently prohibit abortions entirely or after six weeks of pregnancy.
In the absence of any last-minute judicial intervention, three of those states are anticipated to begin enforcing even harsher regulations on August 25.
TENNESSEE Tennessee has prohibited abortions once heart activity is identified, which occurs at roughly six weeks of pregnancy, since Roe was overturned in June. But starting on the 25th, almost all abortions will be outlawed , with the exception of those that are necessary to avoid a pregnant woman’s death or significant damage. No exceptions to that statute will be made for rape or incest.
IDAHO Idaho, like Tennessee, has previously passed a bill that took effect on Friday that forbids abortions after six weeks of pregnancy.
The state will enact a nearly total ban on abortions later this week, with the exception of rape, incest, or medical emergencies, barring court intervention. Outside of these situations, doctors who perform abortions risk up to five years in prison.
Justice Department sued Idaho to prevent this law. A federal judge declared there to be a conflict between that law and the federal law that governs emergency care during a court hearing on Monday. The court announced that he will decide whether or not to stop the bill by Wednesday.
Another regulation that is already in force enables prospective fetal or embryo relatives to file a lawsuit against abortion practitioners for up to $20,000 within four years of the surgery. The rapists will not be covered by this policy, but the rapists’ family members will still be covered.
LEGAL TEXAS A law from before Roe v. Wade that is currently being enforced has already made abortion illegal in Texas. no exceptions is now prohibited from being used in rape or incest.
Physicians who execute the treatment run the possibility of facing life in prison and fines of Utah 0 thanks to the state’s trigger law, which goes into effect on August 25. It only allows pregnant patients in an Utah 1 to have the surgery.
ABORTIONS BANNED IN SOME STATES AS OF SEPTEMBER Since Roe v. Wade was overturned, Indiana became the first state to approve new legislation outlawing abortion. On September 15, that law is expected to go into force.
Indiana will forbid abortions like other states, with the exception of rape, incest, or medical emergencies. Even then, the procedure for carrying out those abortions is complex by the legislation.
The abortion ban in Arizona, which would make it illegal to perform abortions after 15 weeks of pregnancy, is set to take effect on April 12. However, the state attorney general has asked the courts to adopt a more stringent restriction.